Stranger Than Fiction
PG

Stranger Than Fiction

Romantic comedy with Will Ferrell & Queen Latifah 1h53m 7.4165
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
8
2
7
9
8.3
18
7
22
7.7
21
6.9
10
7.5
82
Women 
votes 
7.4
5
7.1
13
7.2
17
8.2
12
7.2
19
7.5
6
7.4
72
Total 
votes 
7.6
7
6.8
24
7.8
36
7.4
36
7.4
41
6.9
19
7.4
165
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
7.4
165

Starts out a bit boring but it really is like a good book which you can't stop reading until the end. I'm not a big Will Ferrell fan but he was really good in this one, as was Maggie Gyllenhal. Director Marc Forster did a wonderful job with this movie.

9
roman@ 25.2.2008   reply age: 26-35   81 reviews

Was very surprised. A novel idea for a movie. Something original for once and was well worth the price of admission.

9

I loved this movie for more than a few reasons. It has a quirky plot with Will Farrell playing the part of Harold beautifully. I found Maggie Gyllenhaal's character most enjoyable. Taken at face value, it is refreshingly different. I will see this movie again.

8

I'm sure the reason this movie got a so-so review was that it's not what people expect. It's not your typical Will Farrell movie (for that, go see that NASCAR movie, whatever its called, which is pretty funny) This is really original, without being too "out there". I didn't have any expectation. I hadn't seen the preview before. I barely knew what the story was about. It's not a drama. It's not a comedy. I barely see the romantic side to the story (ie not really part of the plot) Just see it when you don't particularly crave anything (otherwise you may be disappointed) I really liked it.

8
zygoto78@ 4.11.2007   reply age: 26-35   293 reviews

A farily unique film, the ending is disapointing as it builds you up the whole movie then nothing very big really happens.

7
cfh_trendkill@ 6.9.2007   reply age: 26-35   487 reviews

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
I think it is one of the finest work that participates Will Farell. The cast is very good and credible in a ironic way. The story is original and makes you think about fiction could be real in a way? Of course, there is a happy ending... Good movie.

8
cinecollection@ 15.8.2007   reply age: 26-35   60 reviews

I have never seen Maggie Gyllenhaal before but, in this movie at least, she is HOT!. the Queen Latifah character is poorly written or maybe just poorly acted... I will not give away the ending but I did not like this film's conclusion.

7
chester1958@ 11.8.2007   reply age: 36-49   156 reviews

All the performances were strong in this movie. Will Ferrell was very good in a restrained role--nice change for him. Maggie Gyllenhaal was very charming and Dustin Hoffman seemed to really enjoy his part as an English lit. Professor. The story is quirky but not inaccessible like some films that try to be overly clever with the writing. The novel in the film, however, doesn't come off as being anywhere near as brilliant as Hoffman's prof says it is. And once you get to the climax, you'll see why the novel needs to be absolutely brilliant for the characters (especially Harold) to do what they do. Overall, this movie is a pretty good effort and is worth seeing.

7

Now this is an underrated movie simply because the story and its characters are original. You really don't see it coming at all... It's also a movie that bears extremely well its title.

8
steven@ 26.6.2007   reply age: 36-49   897 reviews

This movie was a tad bit too long but well done overall. I found a couple characters out of place. Queen Latifah should have passed on the role she played. She is much better than how she was cast. Maggie Gyllenhaal is splendid and I found her entertaining while she was on screen. Dustin Hoffman looked like he was just in the movie for the fun. Definitely worth watching never the less.

7
paul.leslie@ 7.5.2007   reply age: 36-49   469 reviews

This is the first movie I actually really enjoyed Will F. in. It showed a serious side of him that was quite delightful to watch him act out this mundane character... Only to find true life and what it offers in the end. Not as funny as I expected but still some ha ha's.

7
weeangel_99@ 5.5.2007   reply age: 36-49   181 reviews

Not very funny. A bit weird if you ask me.

6
jonathonmitchell10@ 22.4.2007   reply age: 1-12   81 reviews

Good movie, worth seeing. The middle of the story was stretched out too long, that's what made it boring. But I love the end! Overall, I thought it was a pretty good movie. The storyline is excellent!

7

This movie was fairly ok... Over the years I have come to dislike Will Ferrell's acting as I believe he cannot act... All his attempts prior to this were a 1 dimensional characters. This film showed he had some depth... Only slightly though... If your bored maybe 1 hour to kill on a plane... This is ok... Wont keep your attention but a ok distraction.

5
dababy76@ 22.3.2007   reply age: 36-49   147 reviews

Too complicated and unbelievable. Terrible acting from many really good actors. I was very disappointed in this movie

3

Stranger than fiction was a movie that took me away from the common low brow movies of Hollywood. It was a delightfully refreshing drink in the deserts of modern cinema, similar to a twist of lemon in the same water you have been drinking for your whole life. Will Ferrel was perhaps in his best acting role to date. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to anyone who is tired of the same old same old that is churned out of Hollywood today.

9
paulkozak@ 9.3.2007   reply age: 26-35   1st review

For novel lovers, who don't fall asleep during movies... I loved it, especially being a Will Ferrell fan anyways.

8
ryen_00@ 3.3.2007   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Its so good lol I dunno I just really liked it.

10
jordan-emo@ 28.2.2007   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Enjoyable mild comedy. Reminded me Adaptation and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

7
parker_2@ 9.2.2007   reply age: 36-49   533 reviews