Platoon

Platoon

Action, drama with Tom Berenger & Willem Dafoe 2h00m 9.619
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
9.8
5
10
3
7
1
-
0
9.5
4
9.5
13
Women 
votes 
-
0
10
2
10
2
-
0
-
0
-
0
10
5
Total 
votes 
-
0
9.9
7
10
5
7
1
9
1
9.5
4
9.6
19
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
9.6
19

Platoon based on director Oliver Stone's time in the Vietnam conflict. A rather senseless war, it polarized America during the turbulent political 60's and early 70's when young American men were being drafted to serve as cannon fodder in a hugely unpopular war. Great performances by Charlie Sheen, Willem Dafoe and Tom Berenger make Oliver Stone's classic war drama one of the best portrayals of war and all of its insanity. A must see.

9
harley17gordon@ 8.9.2012   reply age: 50+   212 reviews

I'm not a fan for war movies but this was one movie I was glad I saw. What you see was almost exactly how war is all about and much more.

9
shazjoao@ 7.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   2548 reviews

A classic, showing a war that could be any war. One of the movie that will play on and on as a classic for year to come.

10
cecilchestnut@ 28.4.2011   reply age: 50+   94 reviews

One of the best war movie ever made. It actualy chose the people from vietnam the way they lived during the war and what the americans did to then, it was maybe sad but it is still the war movie ever. The acting [...] is very good. If you like war movie and you didn't see this go see it now.

10

I saw this movie in my senior year in highschool, and had to write an essay about, thats when I really started to think about it, and honestly this is probably one, if not, the best war movie I have ever seen.

10
a.starrenburg@ 31.5.2005   reply age: 13-17   1st review

I saw this movie for two reasons. One, because it won Best Picture, and two, because it had Depp. This film stretches way past the boundaries of special effects and film-making and Hollywood and creates such a realistic, human depiction of war that I will never forget it. Dafoe is excellent, as are all the soldiers. What matters most is not necessarily the story, but the struggles of each character, whether physical or emotional, whether big or small. Be prepared to be moved.

10

Sheen fallows his father's footsteps, making one of the great Vietnam war movies ever. Cast is brilliant, the story totally captures the viewer, and the direction makes this a piece of art.

9
dominic@ 10.1.2004   reply age: 50+   409 reviews

This movie was excellent. Willem Dafoe was amazing in it. It really shows the horrors of war and how it's not just the enemy thats bad but the good guys too.

10
will_harris_@ 23.11.2003   reply age: 13-17   1st review

Great action! I always wanted to know what was comming next. Some of the best actors ever! Was tastefully done, not too gory but exciting anyway.

10
rockiejam@ 23.2.2003   reply age: 18-25   1st review

I am also doing a term paper on this masterpiece. I have seen nothing but good reviews for this movie and am adding my own to the river. If you havent seen this, you've been living in a hole.

10
ablitzkrieg@ 12.1.2003   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Platoon and Heaven & Earth both directed by Oliver Stone are my favorite movies of all time. They are so emotional... One of the reasons of that is the extremely beautiful and touching music... Masterpieces. Peace.

10
ironspear@ 20.11.2002   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Platoon is the "trueist" movie made so far about Vietnam. I served with the 9th Infantry Division as an infantryman '67-'68. The movie portrayed as realistically as possible (no movie ever could) the rigors of a jungle enviornment. There were no heroes in that war, only survivors. The characters were fully drawn and Stone made it as authentic as he could in depicting the clothes worn, weapons, military terms, etc. I made it through five campaigns and saw a "fair" amount of action and if anyone wants to know what the combat and conditions were then Platoon is a must-see movie.

10
jdries6847@ 23.8.2002   reply age: 50+   1st review - one reply

I'm writing a university paper about platoon. Amazing how real it is! One of the best war movies ever!

10
samwitch@ 18.8.2002   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Best war movie ever! Platoon rules full metal jacket and rocks James Ryan!

10
xtremexpert@ 13.8.2002   reply age: 13-17   1st review

I graduated from high school in 1967. My generation is those depicted here. I sent those young men who were my friends. I picked up the pieces when they came back. I saw the VietNam war on TV. I've not been able to deal with VietNam war movies because they're too close. This one rings true. I and many other women my age had a Chris Taylor in our lives. I am ready now to deal with those memories by seeing these movies.

10
chamberlainwhj@ 4.6.2002   reply   1st review

Absolutely amazing. Willem Dafoe is flawless!

9
god_smack9@ 4.5.2002   reply age: 13-17   249 reviews