The Departed

    The Departed

    Dramatic thriller with Leonardo DiCaprio & Jack Nicholson. 2h29m

    User Reviews

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9
    1
    8.6
    23
    8.7
    67
    8.3
    76
    8
    62
    7.8
    42
    8.3
    274
    Women 
    votes 
    10
    1
    9.6
    14
    8.4
    80
    8.8
    59
    7.8
    51
    7.7
    13
    8.4
    220
    Total 
    votes 
    9.5
    2
    8.9
    38
    8.5
    152
    8.5
    138
    7.9
    115
    7.8
    57
    8.3
    509
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    8.3
    509

    The Departed is a fantastic movie. The best cop drama, and, in my opinion, Martin Scorsese at his best.

    10/10
    acriticwithtaste@ 25.8.2014   reply age: 13-17   87 reviews

    Very good film. My favourite Martin Scorsese film.

    10/10
    redwou@ 22.8.2014   reply age: 13-17   71 reviews

    Great movie. Jack Nicholson played his role very well.

    8/10
    erick_87_542@ 19.4.2012   reply   102 reviews

    Favorite movie... nuff said...

    10/10
    kpjets@ 27.1.2012   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    With an amazing ensemble including Matt Damon, Leo DiCaprio, Jack Nicholson, Alec Baldwin, Mark Wahlberg, and many others, The Departed combines its great acting with an amazing screenplay and direction. The Departed has it all. Entertainment quality is off the charts, and the story's conflicts are presented in the most thrilling manner. One of Scorsese's best.

    9/10
    christensonj_filmcritic@ 19.5.2011   reply age: 13-17   96 reviews

    Martin Scorsese's best film. He combines his unique style of criminal presentations portrayed in classics such as Goodfellas, Casino, and Mean Streets and fuses it together with a dramatic storyline focussed much on the dilemma of each character that Scorsese has never presented before. The mixture results in a dramatic crime classic, and a film that could possibly be used in film classes to present the brilliant use of dilemmas, and the conflict and ultimate result which leads from the dilemmas. The Departed is well titled, and brilliantly portrayed. One of the best dilemma films ever presented.

    9/10

    A fantastic cast leaded by Leo and Matt were a blast, playing each part off one another like a great chess match. An entertaining crime thriller, crackling with energy from beginning to end. The only beef is Nicholson's outrageous over-acting at times. I was not impress with Mark Walberg's performance in the movie and don't agree with his Oscar nomination for best Supporting Actor.

    8/10
    karen_lett@ 23.8.2010   reply age: 36-49   565 reviews

    If you want a movie that have everything from drama -action-love... and more this is your movie.

    9/10
    nelly_r_m@ 14.5.2010   reply age: 26-35   2 reviews

    Besides having Leonardo and Matt Damon, the chinese original version is better It's a trilogy, look for Infernal Affairs I, II and III at video club. I don't see any reason for this movie to win an Oscar. It s just a copy and paste, just a remake of a Hong Kong movie with some small changes.

    5/10
    moncafia@ 21.3.2010   reply age: 36-49   286 reviews

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    «When you decide to be something, you can be it. That's what they don't tell you in the church. When I was your age they would say we can become cops, or criminals. Today, what I'm saying to you is this: when you're facing a loaded gun, what's the difference? » The Departed is more an adaptation of the already cult 2002 Asian flick Infernal Affairs than a remake. What's the difference? Well, it has the same basic premise but everything else is built around that plot to create original characters with new motivations and ultimately becomes a psychological drama rather than an action flick. William Monahan's screenplay is extremely precise. The dialogues are never useless, they all announce something coming up but if we don pay attention we wont notice. Within only the few first scenes, all the characters in the movies are established and they never seem to come out of nowhere when they reappear later in the film. It almost feels as it was written as a book rather than a script. The writting is so good, the psychology of the characters is what matters the most and Martin Scorsese only had to drive this home. The Departed is less ambitious than Scorsese's recent work, such as Gangs of New York and The Aviator, and for that reason, he seems to be having more fun, yet, it doesnt mean the film has no depth at all, it actually has many insights about lying, honor and morality. The language and the feel of Boston is captured perfectly, both in the screenplay and Scorsese's direction. Its part cop thriller and part character study, but its never about the police procedurals or the mob lifestyle, something for which Scorsese has given a lot before with his ultimate masterpiece Goodfellas but also with Casino and Mean Streets. At first glance, The Departed seems to have been made for entertainment purpose but as a veteran director, and one of the best in the history of cinema, Scorsese couldnt help but make this somehow profound, and it pays off cause its his best film in 16 years, his best since Goodfellas, thats not saying little, cause the man has an impressive filmography in between those two films. Basically, the film opens with Jack Nicholson, as Frank Costello - name inspired by a real mafia boss in the first half of the 20th century - the local organized crime godfather, doing a speech about whats good and whats bad, mentionning the church, teaching a kid, Colin Sullivan, who becomes one of his protégé. Later as an adult, Sullivan becomes a state trooper, a cop, and works for Costello from the police department and helps him with hints and does what he has to do not to get caught. Costello is a viscious man. Nicholson nails his character pefectly, he never makes him likeable, he even does the opposite. Costello becomes a disgusting man that, as an audience, we love to hate. Later, he meets a young man, Billy Costigan, who jsut got out of prison, Costello has work with his dad and uncle so he knows the kid. Costigan is actually a cop, we know that before he even meets Costello, and he is smart, many people are suspicious of him, especially when words are out that there is a rat in the gang, and the cops hear the same about their department. Sullivan and Costigan are ulitimately destined to find each other. There are many unspoken words in The Departed, like Sullivan's relationship with the church, with only visual elements and his way of speaking, can only hint something bad, I could speculate child abuse by some priests and would beleive, something similar might have happened to Costello as well. If you havent seen the film, this wont ring a bell at hell, but if you have, maybe you will notice the same details as I did next time you watch it. The film really concentrates on the chracters's psychology rather than on the plot, the plot is there to keep the film moving, but the study of those men, Costigan, Sullivan, Costello, is fascinating. Plus, the acting is great. Leonardo DiCaprio is great again, Matt Damon proves he has more range than what many people wish he had and as mentionned earlier, Nicholson is amazing. The supporting cast is great as well, its no surprise, Scorsese is directing and we get memorable performances from Mark Wahlberg, Alec Baldwin, Martin Sheen, Ray Winstone and the beautiful Vera Farminga, who plays the woman who comes between those two seperate men, but is aware of it, actually, only the audience knows. Stylish and well-edited, The Departed its fast-paced and Howard Shore little string riff, which accompanies almost every scene, makes that film go by in a split-second, even though it's a bit more than two and a half hour long. Amazing film, which you must have noticed, I refused to compare to the «original», cause they dont have much in common. Two different cultures, two different films, with the same plot, thats all.

    9/10
    infamoushug0@ 20.10.2009   reply age: 26-35   27 reviews

    Was on the edge of my seat. Nicholson, Damon, and (I never thought I would say this) Dicapprio were unbelievable. True Martin Scorcese. Violent, dramatic, story, action, what more could you ask for. Excellent!

    9/10
    tcass@ 7.7.2008   reply age: 36-49   157 reviews

    One of the greatest action movies of all time!! Another scorcher from Martin Scorsese!!

    10/10

    Awesome story line, great acting, would compare to resevoir dogs. Amazing ending and when you watch it more than once you actually catch a few more interesting sub story lines formed. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    10/10
    phinladymum@ 3.8.2007   reply age: 26-35   2 reviews

    One of the best movies Ive ever seen but the end is too quick. [...] Awesome movie but the end could be better.

    9/10
    crazy_jd_62@ 2.8.2007   reply age: 1-12   2 reviews

    Not sure which is better, the original chinese version called Inferno Affairs or this english version. Definitely a great plot and acting!

    9/10

    This intricately-woven crime thriller succeeds on several levels... Acting, direction, and story. Jack Nicholson, as usual, steals this movie with his mesmerizing performance.

    9/10
    chester1958@ 19.6.2007   reply age: 36-49   156 reviews

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    Overrated. Great cast, good story, but many plot holes. A mob infiltrator who risks going to see the police shrink on a regular basis? I don't think so. And what was with the text messaging every five seconds? I expected the ipods to come out next. Disappointing overall.

    6/10
    crooker41@ 28.5.2007   reply age: 36-49   216 reviews

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    I'd say this is an above average film, but not a 'best picture' film and not scorsese's best. The academy decided to recognize his work finally. The story is interesting with the two informants subplots. All threw the film, I was wondering how this was going to end, and to my surprise it was a total copout! It's like the writer decided..."gee, how do I end this intricate plot? I know, I'll shoot everyone!"

    7/10
    emanmark666@ 8.5.2007   reply age: 36-49   91 reviews

    A really fantastic thriller that will definitely have you on the edge of your seat! I think Leonardo Dicaprio definitely steals his show. I don't quite understand why Mark Wahlberg got the Oscar nomination, though, his character was a little one dimensional to me. And I don't think this movie deserved the best picture award. Personally, I thought Blood Diamond was better. But still, this is a really stellar cop movie.

    10/10

    Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''The Departed''?

    How do you rate this movie?

    Select stars from 1 to 10.
    10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
    9 - Excellent movie, a must see
    8 - Great movie, don't miss it
    7 - Good movie, worth seeing
    6 - Not bad, could be much better
    5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
    4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
    3 - Poor movie, not recommended
    2 - Very bad, forget about it
    1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.
    About Ad Blockers
    We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

    Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

    And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

    Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

    Thank you :-)



    Click here after whitelisting our website
    Thank you!