Hugo

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9
    5
    8.2
    6
    7.4
    7
    7.9
    17
    7.3
    41
    8.3
    44
    7.9
    120
    Women 
    votes 
    8.3
    6
    7.6
    9
    7.8
    6
    5.9
    8
    8
    22
    8.2
    42
    7.8
    94
    Total 
    votes 
    8.7
    12
    7.8
    15
    7
    16
    7.4
    27
    7.6
    68
    8.2
    87
    7.8
    230
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    All 230 reviews...

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex

    Bad. Terrible. No good. Horrible. Depressing. Unreliable. Lacks entertainment. Sorrowful. Horrifying acting. Odd story. Great at being bad. Unorganized. Not understandable. Bad at being good. Long, much too long. Overall a disappointment. These are all words that describe this movie. This terrible, no good, very bad movie. This movie is especially disappointing for kids, it will make them sad. Even adults will wonder why they ever bothered paying to see this in theaters.

    3/10
    jchilly22@ 2.2.2015   reply age: 13-17   53 reviews

    “Hugo” is a film about art, dreams, film, loneliness, friendship and so much more. Like in real life, every character has a story and their own hopes and dreams so they all feel genuine. It's beautiful and inspiring, and my favorite movie of the year. As the movie started, I smiled and I never stopped. The performances are great, there’s adventure, humour and inspiring moments, some historical/educational aspects too... but best of all it's a movie than anyone can see. Unlike so many other films appropriate for children, it isn't bogged down with stupid jokes and it never talks down to its audience. I never thought I’d see the day where the director of “Casino” and “Goodfellas” made a movie devoid of violence or profanity, but Martin Scorsese’s love of film is infectious and “Hugo” is a triumph. I loved it. (3D Theatrical version, January 2012)

    10/10
    squirrel_burst@ 26.1.2015   reply age: 26-35   285 reviews

    Great movie. Very thrilling. I quite enjoyed it. There just wasn't anything that kept me wanting more. If there was, I would give it 10/10.

    8/10
    sollymander24@ 2.4.2013   reply age: 1-12   72 reviews

    Not usually my type of movie but ended up watching it based mostly on the high rating. Quite entertaining and visually appealing (but didn't watch it in 3D) This is a cute story of a street kid who can fix most anything and the effect he has on people around him. Also is a wonderful homage to early movie-making.

    7/10
    mwhal@ 17.2.2013   reply age: 50+   222 reviews

    Scorcese has done it again! But this time, his masterpiece didn't get Best Picture, but it got a whole lot of other awards!

    10/10
    chw@ 19.1.2013   reply age: 1-12   337 reviews

    I thought 'Martin Scorcese' wow, surely will be good stuff. Considering all the hype about this movie I was keenly disappointed. This would have been a passable computer animated movie.

    5/10

    I understand why it won a lot of prizes. It's a very nice movie that reach all groups of people.

    7/10
    anonyme@ 30.4.2012   reply age: 13-17   2 reviews

    A film within a film. Visually inspiring. A true story about a pioneer in filmmaking entangled with a young urchin and his destiny as the true inheritor of his father's genius denied to him by circumstances. The weaving of the fulfillment when both their destinies collide and truth is found. Loved it...

    10/10
    mrs.m.@ 29.4.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I enjoyed the movie "Hugo" on the BIG SCREEN. Beautiful cinematography. Went with a friend, 50+, she LOVED the movie "Hugo". It's a movie for all ages, not just for kids.

    8/10

    I really enjoyed the movie. Was not expecting too much from the movie... but turned out to b a real "what next" movie. Enjoyed every moment of the movie. A must see.

    9/10

    The story was enchanting, the acting was wonderful, and the artistry can't be matched. An exquisite film.

    10/10
    c.robins@ 7.4.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I found Hugo to be a very boring film that wasted my time. The 3D was pointless.

    1/10
    erick_87_542@ 5.4.2012   reply age: 18-25   102 reviews

    Excellent story but hard to class as either a young persons movie or an adult movie. Definitely worth seeing.

    7/10
    elleywood@ 1.4.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I thought the story was sweet but was secondary to just how beautiful it was to watch this movie. I was mesmerized by every scene.

    8/10
    fitzzzeee@ 29.3.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I took my children ages 7, 10 and 12 to this movie. They enjoyed it for the visual effects. The multi layers of scenery in 3-D were beautifully and masterfully done. Better than any movie I've ever seen. The story line was unique and very insightful. A young, spirited street boy who is a genius at fixing things stretches himself out of his solitaire to reach out to a grumpy old and his family. The subplots of romantic developments between other couples in the film add interesting addtional drama and I loved how all the plots blended into another. Do yourself a favour and see this film.

    10/10

    Apart from the stunning visuals, this movie is horrible. The storyline is convoluted yet predictable. Could have been done without 3D. People who liked Tree of Life will probably like this movie because you will get bored if interested in character development and a moving plot.

    5/10
    hak_choi@ 24.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    Very beautiful love letter to the beginnings of cinema - which everyone must see. May be a bit slow at times for adults, but always very beautiful to look at. Highly recommended.

    9/10

    Very well made... amazing actors... good story... very entertaining, and worth seeing.

    8/10
    ac53083@ 14.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   89 reviews

    This movie was beautiful. I will see again.

    9/10
    pantal@ 13.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   72 reviews

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Hugo''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    You will receive a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    You will be able to choose/change your signature.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.