The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising
G

The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising

Action drama with Ian McShane & Christopher Eccleston 1h14m 5.039
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
2
1
3.7
4
3.5
2
2.5
4
5.5
6
1
1
3.8
18
Women 
votes 
10
1
5
4
5.5
4
3.7
3
7.3
6
-
0
5.9
18
Total 
votes 
6
2
4.4
8
4.8
6
3
7
6
13
1
1
5
39
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
5.0
39

This action adventure was pretty good. Liked it alot.

8
shazjoao@ 6.10.2011   reply age: 36-49   2459 reviews

This movie was g-r-e-a-t!!! I loved it! It was the greatest!

10

The Dark is Rising was always my favorite childrens book. I was so excited when I saw that they had made it into a movie. I was mortified when I actually saw it. They should be sued for taking and destroying such a wonderful story and turning into a barely recognisable piece of crap.

4
olwitch@ 16.11.2007   reply age: 26-35   1st review

If you have never read the book by Susan Cooper, you will likely enjoy this movie. However, if you have read the book, you will be very disapointed. They have made so many changes from the book it isn't even funny. (SPOILER ALERT) Let's make a list of some of the more obvious mistakes/changes: 1. Will Stanton is: a)polite and considerate instead of a girl crazy annoying whiny kid b)eleven years old instead of 14 c)ENGLISH, NOT AMERICAN (in fact his whole family is english) 2. Will Stanton's father is a jeweller, NOT some physics professer 3. Will has NO TWIN. They simply cut out one of his brothers and added a younger sister. (Gwen does appear in the book but as an OLDER sister. He should in fact have a couple older sisters.) 4. Will's family is very nice to him and loves him very much, as apposed to in the film where they are constantly throwing soccer balls at his head etc. 5. No one in Will's family ever knows about his trips into another world. They are all in fact frozen in time while he is completing these tasks. 6. They do not use the beautiful poetry of Susan Cooper. “When the dark comes rising, six shall turn it back, three from the circle, three from the track. Wood, bronze, iron, water, fire, stone. Five shall return and one go alone. ” Instead he reads a different passage from this weird seekers book. 7. THERE IS NO SEVENTH SIGN IN THE BOOK. I was sitting in the movie theatre thinking, What? There’s a seventh sign hidden in his soul? What? 8. The way in which he finds the signs is completely different from the book. He certainly doesn’t happen to find one in the mall at a dinky stall. Wow, these signs have been forged by this great ancestor of Will’s (who, by the way, is not in the book either) and hidden through time. One in a glass window, one in the remains of his own head... oh yeah, and there’s one in this ten dollar necklace that I hid in the jewellery store at the Pen Centre. If you want to know how he’s supposed to find the signs, here’s the poetry: “Iron for the birthday, bronze carried long. Wood from the burning, stone out of song. Fire from the candle ring, water from the thaw. Six signs the circle, the grail gone before. ” 9. The Rider does NOT have a secret identity as a nerdy doctor. 10. Where did the walker go? 11. Maggie Barnes is in the book described as an “rosy – cheeked farm girl, who had always reminded him of an apple. ” He does not fall in love with her (although she does like James) Although she is evil, she is not secretly old. 12. Merriman does not freak out on him (in fact, Will doesn’t have a time limit) 13. Although there is a big storm, everyone does not hide in Merriman’s house. They are FROZEN IN TIME throughout his adventures and HAVE NO IDEA about any of them. There is no big icicle thing either. That’s all I have time for right now. Yes, Carole, it should’ve been turkeys.

2

Good movie to watch with a date funny and a little scary.

7
cherrys_apples_rocks@ 27.10.2007   reply age: 13-17   1st review

As soon as I got to the middle, I couldn't wait till it ends because of how many [...] things I can do better in life than watching this pointless movie.

2
warrogue94@ 21.10.2007   reply age: 18-25   1st review

I thought the movie was great, it kept you wondering what was going to happen, I love the special effects. I was happy to see this movie.

8

I thought the movie was great, it kept you wondering what was going to happen, I love the special effects. I was happy to see this movie.

8
lotetry1970@ 19.10.2007   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Terrible film, movie of the week garbage. Will not be remembered in a matter of months. People keep in mind that the film studios operate swarms of viral marketers that, all day long, write positive reviews from various "believable" people. This is called viral marketing. Any good review of this film is likely to be "viral". Do not waste your money or time, this film is just a marketing ploy created by talentless industry fobs.

2
kenny@ 15.10.2007   reply age: 26-35   1st review

I had seen the trailer, and thought it looked good. But, after having seen Eragon and hating it, I chose to see some ratings. I ended up going to the movie with no hope what that it would be worth watching. When I saw it however I found it to be quite entertaining! The plot could have been thicker, and there were a few moments they could have cut out, but other than that I liked it. No movie can be as great as the book. But this one I would say shined on it's own.

7

We took out 9 year old to see this movie and found it to be quite entertaining as long as you like magical movies. There were a few scenes that were frightening for her but she really enjoyed it as did my husband and I. Some of the reviews are not good for this movie but in the final outcome you need to discover this for yourself. Everyone has their own opinion and has different views. I would see this again. Especially some of the effects.

7
fhsmtih1@ 14.10.2007   reply age: 36-49   1st review

This movie was extremely cheesy. The diologue was terrible and you could see everything that was gonna happen a mile away. Do not waste your money to go see this Crapy movie.

2

I found this movie very interesting and also very funny at some parts. It's great for kids that are ages from 12 and up because their are not very intense scenes. The seeker was really like the second book in a trilogy I am reading right now. I have found that this fabulous movie made me see that there is more to books and movies that meet the human eye!! This movie is great you should go and see it if you like the mystery, adventure type of things!! I found it cool you might not but thats my opinion. And you will have yours!!

10
amanda_loves_inuyasha@ 13.10.2007   reply   1st review

I found myself drifting off and when I awoke my gaze very quickly moved to the exit sign. One of the most boring, poorly acted, weak storied film of all time.

1
ralphgumdrop@ 13.10.2007   reply age: 50+   70 reviews

Compare to The Lord of The Ring, this movies is too simple, and too unromantic.

4
david_su@ 13.10.2007   reply age: 26-35   1st review

Wow can you say lame or boring or unexciting, or possibly fabricated boredom. Its bad dont go.

2
clarke10999@ 13.10.2007   reply age: 36-49   95 reviews

Very slow, not very good. Especially with all of the other movies out now. This is definitely low on the list of good ones.

5
walker.nicole@ 12.10.2007   reply age: 26-35   1st review

I was abit surprised by the poor ratings people were giving. I thought the movie was pretty creative and intresting- essp for young teenagers. Not often can you find a movie that isn't loaded with violence which this one had abit... and not often you find movies with nudity and sex- which this one didnt have, I hope the lower rating of this movie wont stop you from giving it a try , maybe not one to run to the theather to see- but why not rent it- I think it's a nice family movie all can enjoy together.

6
ktout1@ 11.10.2007   reply age: 36-49   106 reviews

The movie is great, not sure why people are writing such bad reviews, but seeing how terrible the grammar is on most of the reviews and the fact that most of the people writing the reviews cannot even formulate a proper sentence then the caliber of the reviews is not surprising. Please I encourage all to go and see this wonderful piece of filming...

10

It's not quite boring but close, it's not exactly childish but almost, the effects and acting are so-so but nothing special. I really do think this would captivate the imaginations of children and teens, but it took me a lot of patience and open-mindedness to give this film a decent shot (which all cinematic works deserve) So, adults: I probably wouldn't recommend it, unless you're going with kids. Even then, it can wait till home release.

4
scotcanliz@ 11.10.2007   reply age: 18-25   42 reviews

I thought it was very predictable...

5
ehiz2050@ 11.10.2007   reply age: 18-25   124 reviews

I read these other reviews and my expectations weren't high. However, I really liked this movie. Sure it isn't perfect, but I thought it was well done. My wife and two daughters (aged 16 and 13) liked it a lot too. It is a little scary, so parents beware. I liked the camera work. Some nice angles are presented and close ups of things that were pretty cool and gave a nice effect. As to one other reviewer who mentioned that camera was shaky, they shouldn't go see the Bourne Ultimatum. Now that movie almost made me sick. The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising is a good movie.

7

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising''?

Add your rating here and you could WIN free tickets!!!

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!