Monsieur Lazhar

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9
    1
    -
    0
    -
    0
    7.6
    8
    8.7
    6
    8.5
    24
    8.3
    39
    Women 
    votes 
    10
    1
    -
    0
    8.7
    3
    9
    6
    8.8
    9
    9.2
    20
    9.1
    39
    Total 
    votes 
    9.5
    2
    -
    0
    8.7
    3
    7.9
    15
    8.7
    16
    8.8
    45
    8.6
    81
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    8.6
    81 reviews

    Very good! I say it should've won the Best Foreign Movie Award.

    9/10
    chw@ 20.1.2013   reply age: 1-12   337 reviews

    An exceptional movie, and Canadian, too!! Very well-done. I am usually of the opinion that children in film should be seen and not heard, but this is one of the rare exceptions where they actually add to the movie. This reminds me of the French movie Pocket Change. I suspect that the great child acting has to do with being in a classroom setting; children don't have to act in a classroom, it's their natural environment. Shows the changing landscape of Canadian culture beautifully. All of the acting was superb, and I am looking forward to seeing this again on dvd.

    10/10
    stanlee@ 3.7.2012   reply age: 36-49   201 reviews

    What cinema should be! Simple and elegant storytelling at its best.

    9/10
    lalonde@ 4.5.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Really enjoyed watching this masterpiece, and I know I'll watch it a second time. Fabulous acting; you get the real thing vs Hollywood kitch.

    9/10
    brigittegd@ 22.4.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Fabulous, thought provoking, sweet and tender. Did well me full of emotion which was good, made I did nearly shed a tear at the very end. A story of dignity and understanding.

    8/10
    georginabeadon@ 17.4.2012   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    It was a very thought provoking film. Healing is a factor but the notion of revenge is paramount.

    8/10
    bwpowell2@ 10.4.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    A very thought provoking film. It is about healing but the notion of revenge is paramount.

    8/10
    bwp33@ 10.4.2012   reply age: 50+   60 reviews

    Wrong communication, stereo typing, sexism, very misleading, unrealistic.

    1/10
    idvd_online@ 9.4.2012   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    Despite some plot holes in terms the story setting, the feelings I got from watching this film were genuine, because the acting was genuine.

    9/10

    This movie explores what is missing in our society without talking about it. It is very well acted and cast. It is a gem! I even enjoyed watching it a second time!

    10/10
    lsmart@ 5.4.2012   reply age: 50+   2 reviews

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    Though a number of things about the film may be difficult to believe, once you get on the train and follow the movie, you realize that this film is a great work. All the actors are fantastic and very convincing in their roles. The kids are wonderful and deserve all the rave reviews that they might receive. It makes you wonder what would happen if a teacher did hang herself, how would the kids react, etc. I did not want the movie to end and felt that I should see what happens. A real joy of a film, one that Canadians should be proud.

    9/10
    napetterson@ 22.3.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    The film is exquisite and explores the hearts and minds of children and the complexities of humankind. The children actors are fabulous as is the actor portraying Mr. Lazhar! 10+

    10/10
    pzakaib@ 17.3.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Touching without being cloying or sentimental. As accurate a portrayal of a teacher's relationship with a class as I've ever seen. Not flashy or over-wrought. Amazing, measured directing. Wonderful restrained acting by the adults and riveting performances by the children. The best movie I've seen in a long time.

    10/10

    Good to see... learning about today's youth reality in our school system.

    7/10
    mbureau@ 16.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   2 reviews

    It teaches us that life is not text book, great.

    10/10
    igloo51@ 14.3.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    Beautiful story, beautifully acted. The child actors mesmerized me. The story is about a class of children who were abandoned by their previous teacher in a dramatic way. In comes Monsieur Lazhar, an Algerian immigrant who has his own pain to deal with, yet he finds solace in the children and they in him. Just a lovely film and I doubt there is a dry eye at the very end.

    9/10
    ablack90@ 8.3.2012   reply age: 50+   57 reviews

    An excellent movie, I really enjoyed it, it was very emotional, too bad it didn't win anything at the Oscar.

    9/10
    mariette.robichaud@ 7.3.2012   reply age: 50+   295 reviews

    Comedy, tears, drama, all the good things that you want to see in a movie, and, made in Canada.

    10/10
    edwardadolph@ 6.3.2012   reply age: 50+   2 reviews

    Very moving, very well acted, very well written movie. A pleasant surprise I'll be recommending to everyone.

    9/10
    mikerkoss@ 6.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    Simple, touching; Mr Lazhar, what an artist.

    9/10
    reception@ 5.3.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I so loved the movie, I saw it twice in one week. The cast selection was brilliant. Mohamed Fellag was magnificent in his leading role. The children were marvelous as was the school principal. M. Falardeau managed to sustain a consistent tempo throughout this very touching and thought provoking movie. I was riveted to the screen and very much appreciated the incredible talent of all the actors.

    10/10
    oasis65@ 4.3.2012   reply age: 50+   2 reviews

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Monsieur Lazhar''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.