Rise of the Planet of the Apes

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9.7
    8
    8.5
    26
    9
    31
    8.5
    56
    8
    70
    7.5
    39
    8.3
    231
    Women 
    votes 
    8
    1
    9
    9
    8.5
    19
    8.8
    35
    8.4
    27
    8.2
    28
    8.5
    121
    Total 
    votes 
    9.6
    9
    8.7
    39
    8.8
    51
    8.6
    93
    8.1
    102
    7.7
    71
    8.4
    372
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    8.4
    372 reviews

    There are few prequels that make audiences leave saying: Wow, I hope they make a sequel to this! But while watching “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” you will be drawn in by the characters and story and forget all about the previous movies (Which ranged from amazing to awful) The story will keep you on the edge of your seat, the action will have your heart pumping and it will make you both cheer and hate for both man and ape at a moment's turn. It’s easily one of the best adventure films of 2011. (Blu-ray, January 2012)

    10/10
    adamwatchesmovies@ 29.3.2015   reply age: 26-35   373 reviews

    I liked this version of how the apes gained the ability to reason and speak. The old story that the road to hell is paved with good intentions worked well. Lots of good action in the movie, though I did find the movie a little boring at times, and the characters, while likeable, weren't that interesting.

    7/10
    dominicproctor@ 1.9.2013   reply age: 36-49   400 reviews

    It was really awesome! I loved this movie! A fantastic installment!

    9/10
    chw@ 20.1.2013   reply age: 1-12   337 reviews

    This movie was spectacular one of my favourite movies of 2011, I would see it again and again. The acting was great, the CG was amazing, the story was great just everything was awesome. Wish that there would've been a little more destruction and I don't know gore maybe at the end but the movie is a must see.

    9/10
    jer_duarte@ 5.7.2012   reply age: 18-25   117 reviews

    Great movie. You can't help but to be on the apes' side. Great special effects, good story. I can't wait for the next one.

    9/10
    zygoto78@ 24.2.2012   reply age: 26-35   293 reviews

    What a great movie!!! Wonderfull special effects, wonderful acting and loved the story line!!! Great moral to learn from this movie! A must see for evryone!!!.. Hopefully they will make a sequel :D

    8/10
    libero_58@ 17.12.2011   reply age: 26-35   114 reviews

    I haven't seen the original films, and wasn't interested in seeing them, but this movie was absolutely amazing! I must say, I went to see it mainly for Tom Felton, but it turned out to be one of the best done movies I've seen in a while. There was so much action, emotion, and meaning to it and it ties together nicely. I cried. Superb film; I plan on buying it!

    10/10

    This movie was great! Believable SciFi. It kept my interest and didn't seem corny at all (I expected it to be a bit corny) I highly recommend.

    8/10

    It was well done and I was never bored for a moment. It had a great deal of depth. The apes were well done and totally believable. I look forward to another Planet of the Apes movie.

    8/10
    peiffergreen@ 30.11.2011   reply age: 50+   104 reviews

    Lame. Special effects were amazing but James Franco can't act, shows nothing even with the beauty playing his GF. Lame.

    6/10
    dannimac@ 15.11.2011   reply age: 36-49   74 reviews

    This movie is not an 8, it is a 10!! It exceeded all of my expectations, and was by far better than both the previous ones combined. Best movie I have seen all year, it was superbly done. Go see it! I will be buying it.

    10/10

    The best Planet of the Apes movie yet!

    10/10
    connorhw1@ 6.11.2011   reply age: 1-12   410 reviews

    I thought it would be a continuation of the original movies. It was not!!! Do not go to this one...

    2/10

    I remember going to see the original planet of the apes starring Heston (1968) and really thought it was great. The sequels weren't as good and started the trend to sequels. I saw the remake with Wahlburg and although it was fun it failed to reignite the franchise. This latest effort changed the whole story of the original movies (Caesar was actually an ape from the future and hence introduced us to a time loop) This steps outside the original as an alternate reality. And in my estimation almost matches the grandeur of the original 68 release. I have heard others bash CGI FXs and in this one I can see how CGI can sometimes ruin a film... still animatronics and rubber nisks would have had the same effect. Although I do say that the CGI does make it a bit more believable.

    6/10

    Overall: great. Unlike previous POTA movies, this one delivers one of the best character developments I've seen in a long time. The first half of the movie is definitely a perfect set-up for the second half, which really brings each character's personality, conflict and goals into play, without getting straight at the action sequences. Come to think of it, the second half delivered what anyone would expect: Guns, cops, cgi and explosions... Go see it on the big screen, very much worth it!

    8/10

    Loved it! This movie was not meant to be a prequel to the original movies but a new fresh take on the franchise with its own line of new movies completely separate. I was a little off put by the CG apes at first but they could never have caputured the humanization of the apes with real animals. They perfected the art of capturing the range of human emotions in facial expressions and body language and transferring that to the apes which was a real driving force for the movie and actually had you rooting for the apes! Can't wait for a sequel, they would be nuts to not make one.

    10/10

    I really liked this movie. Kind of a different twist as to how the apes became "humanized" and took over the world. CGI ape was done very well. Worth seeing.

    8/10
    bl.morton@ 11.10.2011   reply age: 50+   176 reviews

    The ratings are right. This is a good movie!!

    8/10
    rubix@ 11.10.2011   reply age: 36-49   89 reviews

    Enjoyable but it's predictable. There's nothing new here and if you've seen the trailers, you know how it plays out but it's still fun to watch. Except for a couple overhead shots, the CGI looks good.

    7/10
    parker_2@ 10.10.2011   reply age: 36-49   442 reviews

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Rise of the Planet of the Apes''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.