Taxi Driver
    13+

    Taxi Driver

    Dramatic thriller with Robert De Niro & Jodie Foster. 1h53m

    User Reviews

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    -
    0
    9.7
    4
    10
    5
    9.4
    5
    9.5
    8
    10
    3
    9.7
    25
    Women 
    votes 
    -
    0
    -
    0
    8
    2
    -
    0
    7
    1
    -
    0
    7.7
    3
    Total 
    votes 
    -
    0
    9.7
    4
    9.4
    7
    9.4
    5
    9.2
    9
    10
    3
    9.5
    28
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    9.5
    28

    .. to think - Paul Shrader wrote this at 26 - inspired by his struggle with alienation and loneliness - written from the heart, it touches so many issues. Brilliant! But a tad sad to think of De Niro now in stuff like The Big Wedding.

    10/10
    uickbrownfox58@ 30.4.2013   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    Taxi Driver was released in 1976 - that's 37 years ago. It was as excellent a movie then as it is today. The question the director asks (or answers) is, is a hero a terrorist or is a terrorist hero. Or, when is a man wearing a white hat and when is he wearing a black hat? Robert De Niro was perfect in this role. Kudos the individual who cast him.

    9/10
    classical@ 25.4.2013   reply age: 36-49   61 reviews

    This is not a movie for everyone. A very interesting character study into a man who is clearly disturbed. It also makes one think about those we label as heroes. I think Scorsese was very artful in creating this film, and De Niro was trult brilliant. Cybill Sheppard and Jodie Foster also very good in their roles. Sheppard's role is very subtle. I love the ambiguity that runs through the film. A lot of gray about what should be done to improve society and what is wrong with it. Huge coincidence that I saw it on the day a sociopath, Anders Brevik was convincted for his heinous crimes. Unfortunatly, like in this movie, the sociopaths are hard to tell from the rest of us.

    8/10
    dominic@ 25.8.2012   reply age: 50+   409 reviews

    Deep insanity portrayed through the stylish backdrop of a New York of yesteryear. Perfectly tailored dialogue and characters match up perfectly to create a remarkable trip...

    9/10
    faastrot@ 19.3.2011   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    First saw Taxi Driver at an old rep house back in the late 1980's and was blown away. It will be fun to see it on the big screen again. One particularely interesting scene was when Bickle is buying guns from the dealer. The fast talking actor, Steven Prince, portraying the gun dealer appears in a little known short film by Scorsese in 1977 called American Boy: A Profile Of: Steven Prince. Try to find this film as it is worth it to hear the story that Prince tells of reviving an overdosed Heroin junkie in New York during the late 60's. Quinton Tarantino uses this story verbatim in Pulp Fiction during the scene when Uma Thurman is revived from her overdose. I have no idea if Tarantino credits Steven Prince. Anyway just adding a little aside to your Taxi Driver experience. Enjoy...

    9/10
    track3000@ 18.3.2011   reply age: 36-49   3 reviews

    I saw this film when it first came out, after an art teacher of mine went on at length about a long tracking shot of some pretty nasty carnage. My teacher was a lonely guy who ate only in restaurants and got gall stones in the process; his nickname was K-bomb, a diminutive of his original moniker. He sounded a bit like a Travis Bickle character, only not so extreme! So anyway, I saw the film and was, so to speak, blown away. I'm going again, shm. I can hardly wait to see once more that yellow taxi emerging like some mammoth fish from manhole mist, and the strains of woozey jazz! And that's just the beginning!

    10/10

    One of the best movies ever! Everything about it was great, one of my favorite!

    10/10
    jjpat93@ 15.4.2007   reply age: 13-17   137 reviews

    I found this movie interesting to watch from the year 2006. Looking back at that time one has to realize the caos of the life style in that era. Has much really changed? Neat to see actors from "way back then". Bickle seems to be a good hearted man trying his best to make his mark on the world he survives in. He tries to make a difference but it becomes twisted in his mind. Very mild mannered, meek and mild. Those are the ones ya gotta watch out for right? Worth watching. A master piece? Hmmm...

    7/10
    weeangel_99@ 8.10.2006   reply age: 36-49   181 reviews

    A towering classic of American cinematic power. Martin Scorsese teams up with one of the most intense actors of that time to create a masterpiece of urban alienation.

    8/10

    A great movie, with an excellent performance from DeNiro.

    10/10
    demos@ 1.8.2004   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    Great film, a must own.

    10/10
    crazy33@ 20.4.2004   reply age: 18-25   64 reviews

    De Niro at his best. Wow!!

    10/10
    chotson@ 26.9.2003   reply age: 36-49   151 reviews

    Taxi driver is one of the greatest pyschological studies of a man deteriorating from things he cant quite understand but he knows they bother him. It really shows a man of low intelligence trying to cope and deal with things that are building up in him. Not to mention the beautifully haunting music score done by the great Bernard Herman which brings this movie into sheer classic zone. Its quite a piece of work. Only "Raging Bull" compares to the level of brillance coming from director martin scorsese. His other films are great too, but this and "Raging Bull" are the best.

    10/10
    bluemeanie56@ 11.4.2003   reply age: 26-35   2 reviews

    Magic.

    10/10
    abdel@ 25.1.2003   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    Mostly Robert DeNiro was great in acting the psychopath maybe we could call him a sociopath, but the ending of the movie was unrealistic in the sense that everybody died but he became a hero and nobody had even questioned him. Normally in real life he would definitely be punished for the actions that he had made, but on the contrary he wa praised.

    6/10
    sandikbahar@ 5.1.2003   reply age: 18-25   1st review - 2 replies

    ... WOW... if you havent seen it yet, then... WHAT YOU ARE WAITING FOR?

    10/10
    c0nfuzi@ 2.10.2002   reply age: 18-25   85 reviews

    Taxi Driver is one of the most amazing movies I've ever seen, Deniro is a master. I think there are alot of people who can identify with his character in that movie. Two thumbs up from Canada ;)

    10/10
    bellottawa@ 18.2.2002   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    This is the best extraordinary movie I've ever seen. One doesn't know whether to weep in anguish or explode in hapinness when one considers the queer role of Robert De Niro! Really great.

    10/10
    bmajid1@ 7.1.2002   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    Taxi driver is one of the most truthful films of the century. Gut-wrenching yet heart-breaking. DeNiro as Travis Bickle is a modern day hero, with nothing to lose... Truly mesmerizing...

    10/10

    This is one of the most realistic films I have ever seen! You almost feel as if you are right there, witnessing what is going on... Like a fly on the wall, so to speak. A must-see film.

    10/10
    pyrhuss@ 11.8.2001   reply age: 36-49   80 reviews

    Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Taxi Driver''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?

    Select stars from 1 to 10.
    10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
    9 - Excellent movie, a must see
    8 - Great movie, don't miss it
    7 - Good movie, worth seeing
    6 - Not bad, could be much better
    5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
    4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
    3 - Poor movie, not recommended
    2 - Very bad, forget about it
    1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.
    About Ad Blockers
    We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

    Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

    And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

    Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

    Thank you :-)



    Click here after whitelisting our website
    Thank you!