Starbuck

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    -
    0
    -
    0
    9
    1
    -
    0
    8.3
    3
    8.7
    11
    8.7
    15
    Women 
    votes 
    10
    2
    -
    0
    9
    2
    9
    1
    9.2
    6
    8.6
    7
    9
    18
    Total 
    votes 
    10
    2
    -
    0
    9
    3
    9
    1
    8.7
    10
    8.7
    18
    8.8
    34
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    8.8
    34 reviews

    Finally I had the chance of seeing the movie that came out in 2011 and it was well worth it. Starbuck is a heart-warming comedy about a guy who donated sperm years ago to one clinic and 142 of his 533 children are trying to know who their biological father is. The Movie is well written and is a must watch! Another successful movie from Quebec!

    8/10
    freddy.at.the.movies@ 17.11.2013   reply age: 36-49   323 reviews

    A nice surprise! Loved it. Funny and sweet. Can't wait to see how the American remake with (ugh!) Vince Vaughn will ruin it!

    8/10

    I laughed and then cried. Brilliant. Palm Springs film festival.

    9/10
    tojones@ 31.12.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Lovely lovely lovely! :) Saw this film by chance, but it's truly a heartwarming film... the main character is just so lovable and there are many moments in the film that makes humanity look awesome lol. Great movie.

    9/10
    samizv@ 10.9.2012   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    One of those all time good "FEEL GOOD" flicks, and with a little stretch of the imagination, may well have happened.

    10/10
    bozobigal@ 4.4.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Very weel done and very very funny.

    9/10
    daryl@ 13.2.2012   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Outstanding. It not only is hilarious but has a deeply moving message concerning everyone and fatherhood. This is a rare treat in which the humor continues while the message grows slowly to a climax. The acting was great. I saw this while visiting Montreal from the USA and hope it comes to the USA soon to see it again. It was in French with subtitles and kept such a high level of interest that I forgot I was reading subtitles.

    9/10
    alan@ 27.12.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I saw Starbuck while travelling on a plane. I couldn't help but laugh out loud several times, and I also couldn't help myself from crying at several points as well. What a great balance of humour, and heartwarming! A great reminder of what's important and in not judging. What a lovable character David proves to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this film!

    9/10
    shirleymatthew8@ 16.12.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I laughed, I cried. What a lovable character. Great movie!

    9/10
    shirleymatthew@ 16.12.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Great movie. Just indicates that outstanding entertainment isn't anyways a hollywood big budget blockbuster. Quebec film scene does create outstanding entertainment. Canadian movies theatres should promote more of these films.

    9/10
    paul.flynn@ 13.11.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Funny... you definitely leave the show laughing and in a "good mood!

    8/10
    lyndahills347@ 8.11.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    A funny, funny movie. Reminds me a bit of Juno and Little Miss Sunshine - low budget, but the acting and the story are both great. I'll definitely see it again.

    9/10
    jsottawa2001@ 6.11.2011   reply age: 50+   64 reviews

    Very well paced, funny movie. I laughed out loud several times. A must-see!

    9/10
    kparker@ 5.11.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    This film was well acted, with a truly memorable lead character. The character development was intriguing, and the story line was definitely creative and compelling. Lots of comedic moments too... laughed many times. If you're hesitating about seeing this- DON'T! A very enjoyable film- I brought out 5 friends and my spouse to it, and everyone liked it. Rare accomplishment when you pick a movie!!

    9/10

    A nice film, well acted, but the story has too many little illogical sequences for it to really work well. Still, it is a feel-good kind of movie if that is what you are after. Not a multi-layered affair to be sure.

    7/10
    glegh@ 16.10.2011   reply age: 50+   118 reviews

    Brilliant, hilarious and so touching. Certainly not to be believed but charming!

    10/10
    dannimac@ 15.10.2011   reply age: 36-49   74 reviews

    I laughed, I cried, and then I laughed and I cried - went into this movie at the TIFF with no expectations and loved every minute of it!!! I was the first one on my feet for a stand ovation – it was very well deserved!!!

    9/10
    heather@ 15.9.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    I would say 9.5. In my opinion, the 2011 best movie from Quebec. Hilarious and touching, a guaranteed good time for the viewers. Characters are all charming, Patrick Huard has improved a lot in his acting. I totally recommend it. The only thing I would criticize, is sometimes the scenario shows actions that are too much of a coincidence and that could not happen in the real life. But, this is a small detail to the fact that the movie is amazing and a must see.

    9/10

    Perhaps the best domestic film I have watched in a very long time, perhaps ever. All of the praise found here is justified.

    8/10
    namudar@ 29.8.2011   reply age: 50+   50 reviews

    A little amusing comedy, nothing more. Certain short cuts are even disturbing. For example, all the courtroom action is muted by a song track, often in English, without relevance. To script the courtroom action would have been certainly difficult, by opposing the right to know who we are and the privacy of others. With all the breakthroughs in genetic science, it is not frivolous for one to want to know their predisposition to genetic diseases. But this film doesn’t claim to be great Art, but only simple entertainment. There is a lack of empathy in the film and that is due to Huard himself. I feel the roles should have been reversed between Antoine Bertrand and Patrick Huard. A. Bertand is becoming accomplished actor.

    7/10
    o6numbersix@ 17.8.2011   reply age: 50+   94 reviews

    One of the best Canadian movies I've seen in a last time. Don't miss it...

    10/10
    proulxgerry@ 17.8.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Best comedy I've seen since Johnny Stecchino! Patrick Huard is an amazing actor, this film should go all the way, and Ken Scott the producer will be on my watch list.

    10/10
    btabou@ 16.8.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Starbuck''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.