Win Win
G

Win Win

Comedy with Melanie Lynskey & Paul Giamatti 1h46m 8.126
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
-
0
9.5
2
8.5
2
8.6
5
7.5
6
8.3
15
Women 
votes 
-
0
-
0
8
1
8
1
8
2
7.5
6
7.7
10
Total 
votes 
-
0
-
0
9
3
8.3
3
8.4
7
7.5
12
8.1
26
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
8.1
26

When I went to the theater I was saying to myself this is going to be some mediocre movie. But from start to finish I enjoyed it very much so. It had such a beautiful story to it.

9
calvin24323@ 10.11.2011   reply age: 18-25   1st review

From director Tom McCarthy (The Station Agent, The Visitor) is a marvellous alternative to the big box blockbusters. McCarthy is a wizard at producing scripts which result in the creation of real people with all their flaws as well as strengths. And it doesn't hurt to have Paul Giamatti and Amy Ryan on board. I LOVE this movie!

9
wmxy221@ 26.5.2011   reply age: 50+   248 reviews

Terrific movie I went to this with no expectations just wanting to get out and see a film, any film and was pleased with the flick I picked. Win, Win was a well a Win. I found my self laughing and enjoying every moment of the film and the performances of all the actors, this will be a little gem I will recommend to others.

8

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
Not worth seeing on the big screen. Acting was good, but why didn't the lawyer keep the old man in his house? This central point was just glossed over. Paul Giamatti's character could have hired a nurse to just live with the old man 7/24 with the old man's money and still kept the $1500.00 guardian fee. An alarm system and everyone would have been happy. Also, why was the divorced friend thrown into the plot?

5

I thought the acting was weak - probably the result of a poor script. Blind Side, which deals with a similar theme albeit more in the "Hollywood" manner, had a greater impact. The mother of the young boy was not believable, nor was their relationship. The grandfather's dementia was not convincing either. Perhaps all that is needed is more character development. A good story though - it had potential.

6
nrobbyn@ 15.5.2011   reply age: 50+   2 reviews

Giamatti from Barney's Version does a great job in this film about how life can throw you a curve. Very well acted by the cast.

8
marlenehochbaum@ 11.5.2011   reply age: 50+   76 reviews

A delightful and thoroughly entertaining film. I brought my mom to the movies for Mother's Day and we all enjoyed it immensely. Bravo!

9
joel@ 9.5.2011   reply age: 26-35   341 reviews

This is quite a good little gem of a film. I'm surprised it didn't get any publicity...

8
jill@ 9.5.2011   reply age: 26-35   739 reviews

An excellent movie that explores the consequences - good and bad - of one man's lapse in moral judgement, with a few good laughs along the way. The characters are complex and real and the casting brilliant. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good drama.

9
mtgarner@ 9.5.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

A very engrossing story. It did not need costly sets or technical effects. Enjoyed the straight forward American story.

7
thakurj@ 8.5.2011   reply age: 50+   186 reviews

A serious drama that also made me laugh. This is McCarthys best film yet. If you liked his previous movies, The Station Agent and The Visitor you will love this.

9
ccacoop@ 3.5.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Very good movie. Strong characters, strong writing, excellent directing and acting, particularly the young lead. I was not in the camp that loved Giamatti and Tambor worked well together as anyone should expect. What makes this stand out against other movies is the lack of perfect people à la hollywood. Too often movies paint people too simply as black and white. I always prefer a drama where even the protagonists are flawed individuals. Hollywood far too often tries to paint everything in clearly defined black and white with what often appears its own political agenda designed to tell you what's right and wrong. I realize Barney's Version with Giamatti also had the flawed lead character, but I couldn't find a single redeeming quality in that case. This was more in my wheelhouse personally. Win Win, is as its name implies.

8
robert-kralj@ 2.5.2011   reply age: 36-49   188 reviews

I am totally convinced that Paul Giamatti will be considered one of the best actors of generations. Cry, laugh, enjoy. What a wonderful way to spend a couple of hours. Everyone in this movie was beautifully cast. Keep your eye on the new guy (?) and "the crazy girl from Two And A Half Men", really shows her talent. Do yourself a [favor]... see it.

9
elmont@ 1.5.2011   reply age: 50+   133 reviews

This isn't an earth-shattering film. But it is believable with some good laughs and doesn't bring sappiness to the dramatic bits. Well acted by all! Well done.

9
hotpants@ 23.4.2011   reply   1st review

An excellent movie but certainly not a comedy! Laugh-out-loud funny from the Wall Street Journal... No way... deep and serious but very well played by all.

8
jutras501@ 17.4.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

Very enjoyable, touched my heart. Not so black and white. Shows the very interesting sides of humanity.

7

Wow what a great movie I have only given a hand full of 10s and this one deserves a 10 all the way. This quirky movie worked on so many levels, it was a refreshing to see actors act and not get by on good looks and special effects. The story was simple yet drew you in right from the start. Best of all it was funny with out being silly. Great movie there needs to be more like this.

10

Giamatti never disappoints, no matter what role he plays, he is excellent, a feel good movie, worthwhile.

8
vblackie5@ 7.4.2011   reply age: 50+   331 reviews

Nice little movie, very original film, lots of swearing BUT it affirms family values - I wish they released a PG version - I think they cost themselves some money - curious. Giamatti is funny as always, the kid is a state champion wrestler (in real life) who turned out to be a good actor - well done all round.

8

Paul Giamatti at his best, in this small home-town movie, with a laugh-out-loud performance from Bobby Cannavale (Will and Grace) as his best friend. Alex Shaffer, as Kyle, plays the troubled deadpan monosyllabic teenager to perfection. See it before its gone.

8

What a delightful movie! It was so nice to see normal people in a normal town with normal problems. Win Win was just a nice, simple story about good people stepping up and trying to do the right things in a difficult situation. It offers a lesson about temptation and the flipside of immediate gratification. This movie was well worth the time and effort.

8
furn@ 29.3.2011   reply age: 36-49   62 reviews

Another terrific performance by Paul Giamatti in this after Barney's Version. He's good at playing his characters with such apparent ease that he sometimes gets overshadowed by others. A unique story that is both moving and also believable at the same time with some good, family valued messages.

7
karen_lett@ 28.3.2011   reply age: 36-49   565 reviews

I guess I'm not enthralled by Paul Giamatti as lead actor. He's promoted as 'everyman', and strikes me as 'nobody'. I liked him as an orangutan though. The movie contains adult women, toddlers, teenagers, a senile retiree, and three adult males. The adult males were the most childish characters on screen. My rating, however, says that it is 'A good movie. Worth seeing'. It is. The gorgeous Amy Ryan deserved better, that's all.

7
maverick@ 28.3.2011   reply age: 50+   387 reviews