Anonymous
G

Anonymous

Drama with Rhys Ifans & Vanessa Redgrave 2h10m 8.396
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
7.7
6
10
1
7
6
9.2
11
8.4
29
8.4
54
Women 
votes 
10
1
8
1
10
2
7
8
8.8
13
7.8
13
8.2
39
Total 
votes 
10
1
7.7
7
10
3
7
15
8.9
26
8.2
42
8.3
96
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
8.3
96

Well, Firstly is was too long, secondly it was boring as hell and thirdly it was richly done, however I loved the opening and closing of the movie. I truly enjoy movies like these but for some reason this one was utterly slow and ever so disappointing - to me that is.

6
shazjoao@ 27.6.2012   reply age: 36-49   2478 reviews

I really wanted to see this movie when it first came out. I found the timeline to be overly complicated and confusing. I think I figured it out by the end of the film - however, very poor story telling when the premise is so interesting. Shame. It had good acting and the sets were spectacular.

4
quillsinc@ 25.5.2012   reply age: 26-35   143 reviews

I enjoyed this movie but sympathize with the folks who found it inaccurate and implausible. What can I say? I was trained as an historian but love the most outrageous reworking of the record. I thought this was also delicious to look at. Forgive me, Professor Blisset, I give it a 10.

10

So many things about this film really wowed me: the acting, the sets and costumes and the meticulous period detail. I loved Vanessa Redgrave as Elizabeth 1 and the entire cast was excellent. A really interesting film.

9

Quite brilliant. Forget the historical accuracies and inaccuracies, this is pure enjoyment. Well worth seeing. Very entertaining.

10
williamwho@ 14.12.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

It was definitely too long! The story was good but it was too slow and sometimes I was bored by the movie. But the performances were really great. The decors were beautiful too.

6
kevinw@ 12.12.2011   reply age: 13-17   60 reviews

I'm sorry, but I was extremely disappointed in this movie. It is an endless babble of olde english, scraps of plays to fill in voids that could have better been used to more develop the characters and a plot.

6

Well, this is not a historical accurate movie and it doesn't claim to be! It's still just very entertaining controversy that it's very fun to watch. I agree the first half of the movie was hard to follow due jumping back and forth in time. But overall it was a fun watch.

7

Excellent historical fiction piece. Costumes are fantastic! Interesting twist, but leads the story into the unbelievable. Pairing of Joely Richardson and Vanessa Redgrave as young and old Queen Elizabeth was casting genius!

9
travlnjen@ 3.12.2011   reply age: 26-35   1st review

Forget the premise (too many people in real life are killing themselves over it) and watch the movie for the acting, the cinematography and rich, deep warmth of the era. Yes; you will be knee deep in mud but it's "Shakespeare's England". (or is it?) The film is a masterpiece and yet another fine example of those hoards of wonderful British actors. And for all of you who have never seen or heard of Mark Rylance before (he plays one of the Shakespearean actors) keep your eyes peeled. His 2 last stage plays in London (Jerusalem and La Bete) have crossed the pond to Broadway for runs there as well. And just to show how brilliant an actor he is, he will be playing Olivia in Shakespeare's Twelfth Night next fall (2012) live at Shakespeare's Globe theatre in London. See this movie. I'm going back tonight for a second view.

9

If a movie makes you think afterward, question and check the facts, then it is a great movie. To many people follow what the media feeds them blindly, but you should also question historic motives, that perhaps facts were altered in that day. I enjoyed the movie as entertainment, and it encouraged some research as well.

8
glenedra@ 2.12.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Great Movie, go for it. I really enjoyed and learned a lot from it. Very well done. Good one.

8

Anonymous is a mind-twisting illusion. Roland Emmerich has finally avoided his typical directing styles to a heavier dramatic fashion. However, despite the fascinating performances embraced by the character depth, this movie is shameful. I have seen plenty of Shakespeare films and read a couple of plays, this vision or perspective of the Shakespeare era is incredibly dull. There are far to many overly developed characters and transitions between each one following the back and forth from past to present which overly complicates the audience. You need a strong focus to understand the overall concept of the film because by the 3rd quarter, you begin to go into a state of confusion. In the end, there isn't much outstanding. Despite the missed opportunity, the film never bores and keeps a sound level of entertainment throughout. Anonymous is an all right movie that simply isn't worth any price of admission.

5

After seeing this film, it was so sad to realize it was not going to be well-received at the box office, as evidenced by our sharing the theatre with only 7 other individuals. This was an excellent film, intriguing, beautifully staged and filmed, even the CGI components were the best we've ever seen. We loved the story, the acting, the romance, the painful reality of the costs of following one's passion in a treacherous world. Why is it quality is lost on the young, under-educated masses who seem to prefer films of violence and idiot sexual humour, rather than an artistic treatment of living with character and selflessness? Good movies are becoming fewer and far between, but Anonymous was terrific.

9

Excellent cast and script, great flow from beginning to end with burlesque theatrical scenes, power struggle politics, cloak and dagger intrigue and superb settings... a poignant revelation of the mythical of anonymous "Spear Shaking" William... Definitely Oscar material!

9
rb.ja@ 20.11.2011   reply age: 50+   3 reviews

I personnally left after 30 mins and slept 20 mins... so boring.

2
marc.oberle@ 19.11.2011   reply age: 26-35   1st review

So well done from acting, sets and costumes to the storyline and depiction of historical fact mixed with fiction. If you are a fan of Shakespeare you'll enjoy seeing scenes acted beautifully as well as the treatment of fake Shakespeare the fop and the passion of the "real" Shakespeare in Oxford. The treatment of Queen Elizabeth (as a mother many times over) is interesting, strange and unique. Good fictional fun done up right.

9
jjcanuck@ 19.11.2011   reply age: 36-49   123 reviews

Wonderful film, thoroughly enjoyed it. The art direction is outstanding. I particularly enjoyed the recreation of the staging of the plays in The Globe Theatre. I had no trouble following the plot but you do need to pay attention. By the way, if you want to read about the Oxfordian theory I recommend "Shakespeare by Another Name" by Mark Anderson.

9

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie and its presentation of an alternative view of history. Scenes, dialogue, costumes, story - all were epic. Definitely recommend watching this movie.

8
rowergirl57@ 15.11.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

Interesting premise. But I don't enjoy movies that jump around so much in the timeline. Difficult to follow at times.

6

Who was William Shakespeare? Has he ever existed? Was he merely a pen name? ANONYMOUS attempts to give a new perspective to the mysterious but legendary British author. After watching the movie, have I understood that William Shakespeare was actually a pen name taken by the Earl of Oxford to unmask political stratagems behind-the-scene of 17th-century UK's imperial might?

6
ravi_jay_gunnoo@ 14.11.2011   reply age: 36-49   76 reviews

LOVED IT! Can't wait to see it again. Great actors, fantastic sets and costumes. It really captured the period. Somewhat confusing, but loved the possibility of the storyline and by the end I had figured out all the characters. If you like period pieces, this is the movie for you.

9

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''Anonymous''?

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!