Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows
PG

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

Action/adventure with Robert Downey Jr. & Jude Law 2h09m 8.0313
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
7
1
9.4
18
8.5
21
8.3
30
7.8
46
7.1
53
7.9
172
Women 
votes 
9.7
7
8.8
12
8.8
25
8
25
7.9
34
7
27
8.1
131
Total 
votes 
9.4
8
9.2
30
8.6
47
8.1
56
7.9
84
7.1
84
8
313
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
8.0
313

"Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows" is not as good as the original, but it does benefit from an interesting villain. It's unfortunate that Sherlock and his adversary don't share more screen time, but the second half is interesting and well crafted enough to keep the audience entertained. What hurt the film is that the detective work and mystery play second fiddle to some of the action scenes and humor and that some of the revelations are way over the top. It is nevertheless enjoyable if you're a fan of the first film. (Theatrical version on the big screen, January 2012)

7
adamwatchesmovies@ 29.3.2015   reply age: 26-35   729 reviews

An action adventure film of the blockbuster variety. Downey and Law have great chemistry and the film makes much use of it. It is too bad the McAdam part was as small as it was as I enjoyed her work as well. I enjoyed the action scenes less. I watched this on a small screen, so maybe in the theatre the action worked better. I found myself bored through many of the action scenes, and there were a lot of them.

7
dominic@ 3.4.2014   reply age: 50+   409 reviews

I wish I was warned that Sherlock Holmes got artsy-fartsy. They should have taken the money they used to make this movie and put it into something actually awesome (like the TV show SHERLOCK which puts these movies to shame)

5
hockeyfan99_19@ 28.2.2013   reply age: 18-25   84 reviews

A fantastic sequel of the best Holmes reboot ever made!

9
chw@ 17.2.2013   reply age: 13-17   337 reviews

The second Sherlock Holmes is also a brilliant movie, the plot is incredible, the actors are amazing, the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard and the combination of action and humour is just outstanding. A must-see!

9

Just as good if not better than the first one, very funny and full of action... the acting of course is excellent.

8
phil.j@ 17.7.2012   reply age: 36-49   66 reviews

When Sir Arthur Conan Doyle penned the character of Sherlock Holmes I doubt he envisioned his famed inspector running through the forests of France being shot at slow-motion style by mortars. That remains the biggest problem with this film, that director Guy Ritchie doesn't seem to know what to do with Holmes or Watson who drift through endlessly repetitive fight scenes quibbling back and forth like spoiled children. Both Downey Jr and Law work a lot harder than they should given the material they've been saddled with, where even the legendary villain Prof Moriarty is rather dull, safe for a rather neat final confrontation. The door was left open for a sequel but after two less than stellar films in a row I doubt it'll happen soon.

5
jfichaud@ 3.7.2012   reply age: 26-35   277 reviews

Like the first one this is a solidly entertaining romp that laughs at itself frequently. You can't help but like Robert Downey. I could watch this if they made a sequel every year and never get tired of it. It's funny, it's stupid, it's a little bit deep but mostly Hollywood gratuitous action. Great music and camera work.

8
nanolovesjesus@ 28.6.2012   reply age: 36-49   87 reviews

It's not what you'd expect. It doesn't make sense until the end.

6
erick_87_542@ 19.4.2012   reply   102 reviews

I got hooked on the Sherlock Holmes series from BBC over a decade ago and I thought the first movie with Downey and Law was mildly passable. I wished at the the makers would incorporate more of Doyle's Holmes mythos for a sequel. I was not disappointed. It was great to see Mycroft Holmes and the R. Bach falls incorporated. I think this is an improvement on Doyle as it adds more action and comedy. Detective fiction often misses that.

10

Better than the first one. An excellent sequel. Looking forward to more in this series.

9
vena@ 23.3.2012   reply age: 50+   77 reviews

I had high expectations for this film and was not disappointed! The music score is impeccable... the visuals are amazing to say the least! Kudos to the foley artists... the sounds are incredible and make the action feel alive. I felt as if I had been transmitted into the story itself! Simply the presence of the villian made me cringe... terrific performance from him, so convincing! As for Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law, to say they are a dynamic duo is a gross understatement... they were even more comical and intense in this installment and completely embodied their characters! And the plot, mind-boggling, full of twists and turns... I was on the edge of my seat! Stellar! Can't wait to see it again!

10
cascanej@ 18.3.2012   reply age: 18-25   71 reviews

Not bad -- I liked it better than the first one!

7
violbiol@ 17.3.2012   reply age: 26-35   295 reviews

The 1st one was better. If you missed it, you would not understand some of the nuances surrounding the Sherlock character or some of the call backs to the 1st episode. The villain was better in the 1st movie as well and it was darker and more mysterious than this installment. I'd give this a 7.5 and had more eye candy than brain candy.

7
canuckcop@ 8.3.2012   reply age: 36-49   192 reviews

I saw the first one that came out previously in the theater. I liked it, but had trouble following it. So with this sequel, I really wanted to like it as I saw it in the theater as well. But the result wasn't what I was expecting. I really enjoy the actors, both Jude Law and Downey Jr., but I got lost in it again. The stars companions were entertaining also. The music soundtrack was perfect for the time period of the story. The direction was swift-paced... I have never seen such photography, especially with its original look. You can see it in the first story too. This film has enough courage to be unlike anything shown in the theater.

8

I cannot remember being so entertained. I enjoyed the First of this series and it's not often a sequel improves on itself. Guy Ritchie has done it again. Fast paced, full of wit and humour, twisting plot and action sequences that take your breath away. Excellent choice of cast and great chemistry. Don't miss this one.

9

Dumbfounded how Ritchie retains so much humour and sharp, pithy dialogue amidst his purposely overly convoluted plots and antics. Probably better than the first. If you don't understand the plot, who cares (join the rest of us... if you can't appreciate the movie for its humour, well, Chipmunks are still playing next door!

9

10 times better than the first! Loved this movie, love that they keep it clean enough to take your kids (still use discretion, some parts may be frightening) Moriarty is seriously twisted, Downey Jr. is fabulous, as is Jude Law... and Holme's brother is an excellent addition to this one. Can't wait to see it again! See, you can make a movie that is improved upon by its lack of profanity!

10

The second installment of Sherlock Holmes has a lot going for it. Wry humour from Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law. The director Guy Ritchie's incredible eye for detail and his very obvious rapport with his actors makes this better than the first movie in every way. Thouroughly enjoyable from start to finish takes the viewer on an incredibley breathtaking ride. With imaginative storytelling it leaves us wanting more. I can't wait for the next installment to hit the screen.

9
harley17gordon@ 21.2.2012   reply age: 50+   212 reviews