Milk
PG

Milk

Drama with Sean Penn & Emile Hirsch 2h08m 8.3124
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
6
1
8.7
8
7.1
11
8.4
36
8.5
13
8.2
69
Women 
votes 
8
1
5.5
2
9.2
9
9
1
8.3
15
8.7
19
8.5
48
Total 
votes 
8
1
5.7
3
9
17
7.6
16
8.4
53
8.6
33
8.3
124
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
8.3
124

Sean Penn is amazing in this film. This docudrama is gripping and even though you know the outcome, you hope it isn't so.

10
liz_warman@ 25.4.2009   reply age: 36-49   62 reviews

I would have given it a higher rating except the story was only good, not excellent. Sean Penn on the other hand was excellent. I admire actors like Johnny Depp, Sean Penn, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, etc... that take chances. This was a brave role for him (and shocking since he was always known as being a macho tough guy) What a talented actor!

8
tcass@ 31.3.2009   reply age: 36-49   160 reviews

This was an excellent film. The filming techniques are original, innovative and brave. The filming does a lot of justice to the message and strength of the movie. Sean Penn plays a great role and his acting is absolutely terrific. This movie is a must see for our generation. The story is profound, courageous and evocative. Bravo! Don't miss it.

8
nlaszchuk@ 30.3.2009   reply age: 18-25   1st review

It wasn't very good, I'm okay with gay but they went a little to far, making some of the viewers uncomfortable.

2
nsajsaj@ 22.3.2009   reply age: 13-17   1st review

Amazing and very inspiring! The actors were well chosen - I was amazed to see the resemblance with the real people. And the people looked "real", not fake and put on as is usual in Hollywood.

10
nancyboy@ 8.3.2009   reply age: 36-49   2 reviews

8/10 I expected more out of that one. Still worth seeing definitely. It is the second time that I am very impressed by Emile Hirsch. Really really good. I think its about time the academy takes notice of that young man. Good movie very solid acting, sex was not too graphic. Ell done.

8

Sean Penn was brilliant in this movie and deserved the Oscar he got. As a piece of history the story needed to be told. The movie itself was good but it is not a movie great.

8

Excellent, moving! Sean Penn is a terific actor! It's about time Hollywood salutes gay history.

10
luluboulamger@ 5.3.2009   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Good movie, no wonder Penn won for Best Actor, excellent acting.

9
bourguignon.hc@ 4.3.2009   reply age: 50+   1st review

Thank you, Gus Van Sant. A phenomenal movie. Thank you.

10
lillydipping@ 3.3.2009   reply age: 26-35   1st review

This is good movie. Sean Penn's acting is excellent.

8
bernlarouche@ 2.3.2009   reply age: 36-49   79 reviews

An excellent movie, Sean Penn is excellent, he merits the Oscar.

9
mariette.robichaud@ 26.2.2009   reply age: 50+   295 reviews

Perfect and perfectly boaring. It is like Van Sant had a check list. The performances were strong but I would love to see what it would have been like in the hands of Ang Lee or Mike Leigh. Over rated over all.

6
ronijaynemuench@ 25.2.2009   reply   1st review

As a heterosexual male, this movie really opened my eyes to the lives of homosexuals. I walked into the movie expecting it to be a film about gays parading around each other in a sort of "in your face" way. It was quite the opposite indeed. This story touched me and I have now changed how I view homosexuals. So thank you Harvey Milk and thank you Sean Penn for portraying such an extraordinary man and opening my eyes, and hopefully the eye's of others.

9
benj_a_dwell@ 20.2.2009   reply age: 26-35   2 reviews

A great "forgotten" story that will certainly be more appealing to those of us who remember the era. Sean Penn is pretty convincing in this very out of charater role hence his nod for an oscar nomination.

7
ralphgumdrop@ 20.2.2009   reply age: 50+   70 reviews

Milk recreates an era with incredible accuracy. Milk was about equality for all not just gay people--the fact that he was gay was irrelevant to thinking people--what he represented was fairness for all. A must see Sean Penn deserves this oscar.

9

When I went to go see this movie, 2 guys walked out of the movie disgusted with the "gayness" of the movie. I want to thank those 2 ignorant men, you gave me and everyone else in the theatre even more reason to appreciate how important the message of hope is. This is a fight still worth fighting.

9
mcgilljock@ 17.2.2009   reply age: 18-25   2 reviews - one reply

As seen by recent events in the USA, this is a story that needs to be told. Beautiful story. Really great movie. Penn needs to win the Oscar and this should be a serious contender for movie of the year.

9
psenra@ 17.2.2009   reply age: 18-25   1st review

I expected this movie to be primarily about the crusade for gay rights (something I support) But there was WAY too much kissing, sexual content and gay flirtatious behaviour. I generally have no problem with those things (they made my stomach turn a little) but as a heterosexual male, I simply could not relate any more than I could relate to Bridget Jone's Diary. I was so bored I walked out after an hour. I think I will have to support gay rights from afar.

3
moviedude1@ 15.2.2009   reply age: 26-35   18 reviews - 5 replies

Not bad, could be better by focusing more on characters, I would like to say it looks a novel having chapters and each chapter can be a full movie.

6
funtiame@ 15.2.2009   reply age: 36-49   2 reviews

Simply loved it. Beautifully told, along with great acting. Really makes you feel like you are in the 70's and shows you the horrible struggle homosexuals go through. Sean Penn couldn't have played Harvey Milk anymore perfeclty. I was also very surprised by how much I loved Emile Hirsch's performance.

9
helen_r55@ 14.2.2009   reply age: 18-25   2 reviews

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''Milk''?

Add your review here and you could WIN free tickets!!!

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
Advertisment
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!