A History of Violence

A History of Violence

Dramatic thriller with Viggo Mortensen & Maria Bello 1h16m 6.0171
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
8.7
8
5.5
37
5.3
32
6.8
27
7.7
8
6.2
113
Women 
votes 
-
0
-
0
4.6
16
5.5
21
6.7
12
6.8
5
5.6
54
Total 
votes 
-
0
8.7
8
5.2
53
5.5
56
6.6
40
7.4
13
6
171
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
6.0
171

One of my favorite movie of Viggo. Just a classic thriller... sure it's predictable and not that good but I like the development of this one.

8
meddleroidz@ 27.6.2013   reply age: 18-25   263 reviews

It sucks when a movie is really bad, yet it is too awkward to make fun of it. I can have fun watching a bad movie with my friends while we make fun of all the stupid parts. There is no fun to be had with this movie. The acting job done by the son is way beyond funny bad.

2
turneron14@ 16.9.2009   reply age: 18-25   71 reviews

Excellent movie. Underrated by critics. Great performance by the actor Jason Barbeck. Watch him. He'll go far. Remember his name.

9
pbarbeck@ 27.11.2008   reply age: 50+   1st review

Some parts very long... But That's what it make it so Good!!! I really appreciated the style!! Well... I loved Mortensen's playing!!!

10
play_organisation@ 18.9.2007   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Even thought the cast is impressive, this movie is not good at all. Thank god I didn't watch it in the cinema, I waited untill it came on DVD. But seriously, it's not even worth being rent. The movie is long (even thought it's just 1h36), it feels like 2h30. The acting was strange, I didn't understand what the director was trying to show with the actors. The story is interesting and it could of made an amazing movie, but it really didn't. It was mostly boring.

4
krayzie_lady@ 17.4.2006   reply age: 18-25   226 reviews

Really enjoyed this film, thought it moved very well, the violence was depicted very well thought the ending was great, and really showed what the rest of the family was going through.

9
cfh_trendkill@ 23.3.2006   reply age: 18-25   487 reviews

One of the worst movies I've seen. Weak scenario; mainly awful acting (Ed Harris acts great but he's not a mafia man, more like FBI agent); obviously bad casting (whats that little girl of theirs which doesn't even look like their daughter); hardcore porn sex scenes dont belong here. Mr. Cronenberg please dont make movies anymore-you waist our precious attention... I wouldn't consider renting of this...

1
est.val@ 23.3.2006   reply age: 26-35   1st review

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
I thought this movie had an interesting concept because his family had no idea he had ever been involved with the mafia and when they found out, it left its negative effects on all of them. [...]

7

It was like seeing two or three of the greatest Sopranos episodes rolled up into one fantastic movie. Superb.

10
birdpart@ 12.3.2006   reply   1st review

I was extremly impressed with this movie, everything was realistic. Just like man on fire every part of this movie I can see happening in real life. The gun fights/ fight scenes were well done nothing that is super human was done he got Hurt and messed up in each incounter with the people from his past. The only part I didnt like was the ending it did suite it but I would have rathered some talking, it was still well done. Oh and to all those people saying ooo it was bad it was violent and the sex scenes were to graphic, it rated 18A it takes alot to get that rating so what do you expect.

9

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
This movie is absolutely terrible. Watching that sex scene on the stairs was intense! She had bruises on her back, that was dope!

1

This was a movie which kept me right at the edge of my seat. It was very suspenseful, which was great. However, a little less blood would have made the movie more enjoyable.

7

What a piece of hooey this movie is. The sex scenes are ridiculous and offensive. Made everyone in the theatre uncomfortable. Terrible story line and crumby acting. People were laughing at scenes that clearly were not comedy. AWFUL.

1

This was by far the worst movie I have ever sat through and I have seen some bad ones... the acting sucks and it's really unbeliveable...

1
janelhedges_77@ 30.12.2005   reply age: 26-35   1st review

The plot was very transparent and unlikely. Random scenes that had nothing to do with any thing made this horrible movie longer than it had to be. There is no suspense and no action.

3
changy64@ 28.12.2005   reply age: 18-25   1st review

The violence referred to in the title is quick and effective, leaving the audience wondering if what they saw really took place. William Hurt's small role is a gem.

9
maverick@ 25.12.2005   reply age: 50+   387 reviews

A very strong movie with some outstanding performances. The ending is haunting. If you're looking for a neat and tidy plot-driven action flick, you'll probably hate it. This movie is a character study and requires actual thought..

9
cgh_green@ 18.12.2005   reply age: 36-49   1st review

I enjoyed it. I can see how some people might think it is a bit slow and drags on. Although, the scene with Viggo running was a bit of a distraction.

7
parker_2@ 14.12.2005   reply age: 36-49   534 reviews

Excessive everything, except plot.

1
adamsonofwilliam@ 26.11.2005   reply age: 18-25   2 reviews

The story line very basic and somewhat predictable. The sex scenes and violence, which would normally make a movie at least acceptable, had no real point to furthering the storyline.

4
kaseverson@ 19.11.2005   reply age: 26-35   1st review

The only reason I even give this a "3" is because I like Ed Harris and Viggo Mortensen... that's it!! Very dissappointing. The trailers were more exciting than the actual movie itself.

3
rfargo@ 18.11.2005   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''A History of Violence''?

Add your rating here and you could WIN free tickets!!!

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!