Devil

    Devil

    Horror/thriller with Chris Messina & Geoffrey Arend. 1h20m

    User Reviews

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9
    1
    6.7
    3
    6.5
    6
    7.6
    14
    6.9
    13
    6.3
    9
    7
    47
    Women 
    votes 
    -
    0
    7
    4
    5.5
    4
    7.9
    8
    6.2
    6
    -
    0
    6.8
    22
    Total 
    votes 
    9
    1
    7
    8
    5.5
    15
    7.5
    24
    6.5
    21
    6.4
    10
    6.6
    82
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    6.6
    82

    Very well written and put together. Kept the suspense and chills every now and then.

    7/10
    shazjoao@ 22.8.2011   reply age: 36-49   2400 reviews

    Wickedly scary and disturbing... being raised Catholic.

    10/10
    erictorok65@ 24.12.2010   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    The movie devil is now in theaters. This movie of gore and suspence is the perfect film for people (like me) that are to scared to watch movies like ­: Grudge , Saw , exocisme and more. [...] I give 9.5 on 10 for the story and 8.5 on 10 for the fearness. All the actors were great because they were in the characters and all the time in this action. My favourite character and actor was the grama Jenny O'Hara because she was very scary. Now for the producer I think that Night Shyamalan was very good and pertinent.

    8/10
    sasuky111@ 19.11.2010   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    Kinda blah. Guessed the devil character right off the bat, it was that predictable. There wasn't any really scenes that made me jump. But on the plus side, it's not the normal steaming pile we've come to expect from Shyamalan but maybe that has to do with the fact that he just provided the story, not the screenplay or direction.

    6/10
    parker_2@ 3.11.2010   reply age: 36-49   515 reviews

    Definitely better than some of his movies i.e. the village and signs, we all remember that. Has a fairly decent plot with good pacing. A little bit obvious and although he throws religion into every movie I feel it's a bit much to smack you on the head with it. All in all it was an enjoyable movie and worth seeing in the cheap theater.

    7/10

    M. Night Shyamalan gives too much power/credit to the devil in judging evil (not how the Bible describes lucifer or judgement of sin) Although a little off, it still ends with a good message. Keeps your attention (a "whodunit") Some interesting twists. Not the best acting, but still fun to watch. A little to scary for kids. Enjoy the show!

    7/10
    jdjeffird@ 18.10.2010   reply age: 36-49   348 reviews

    I was expecting this movie to be a lot worse than it was. A short movie with a simple storyline, but still a twist. Worth seeing.

    7/10
    adam.hulm@ 17.10.2010   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    This is a movie that will keep you guessing!!

    8/10

    This is the worst movie in the world!!! Don't even bother watching it!!! :(

    1/10
    johnneyappleseed@ 14.10.2010   reply age: 50+   1st review

    It had a good story line and kept you guessing, but the excitement was minimal and not very gripping.

    8/10
    ralph.wiggum@ 10.10.2010   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    Wow!! Awesome!!! Really scary, ans original!! Sn old school horror!!

    10/10
    shivanham@ 10.10.2010   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    It was an amazing movie! And yes, very accurate of the reality of the supernatural!! Of course it was religious! It's about the Devil, what did you think the moral of the story would be?

    10/10
    ishiwoman@ 10.10.2010   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    Not very exciting. Nothing scary about any of the scenes... I was given the impression this was a horror/thriller flick. It was neither.

    5/10
    mknelsen@ 5.10.2010   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    Brilliant script. I think Martin Luther King Jr would describes the moral of this story like this " We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the capacity to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us". I left the theatre with a feeling of wanting to confess my sins to God so that Satan stays in his own realm and as far from me as possible.

    7/10
    tmethot@ 4.10.2010   reply age: 50+   41 reviews - one reply

    It's too gory and too much blood if I say. So I say never watch this movie it is horrible ask anyone. Also you guys are making fun of people and the devil!!!

    1/10
    robertbodnar1432@ 4.10.2010   reply age: 50+   1st review

    This was a nice break from all those plot-less horrors that have been out recently. I am a huge fan of horror flicks, and this one was not that scary. It was more of a murder mystery, which was not what I was expecting from a movie named "Devil" I also found it highly religious. Nonetheless, a well made and well directed movie, not too scary but extremely suspenseful, really had me on the edge of my seat all the way through!

    7/10

    I really enjoyed this movie. And I liked that it was creepy and kept you on the edge of your seat without being gory bloody. I didn't mind not seeing how the people died. It just made me wonder who the killer was even more. And I'm really glad that not the whole thing was done in the elevator. There was stuff going on outside that little box to move the movie along. I like most of M. Night's movies (with the exception of Unbreakable), and okay, I know he didn't direct this one. He wrote it and I believe he produced it. But it shows in the eerie quality of the movie. Overall a pretty good movie.

    8/10
    dvlspice@ 2.10.2010   reply age: 26-35   38 reviews

    Movies are rarely perfect but one must grade them to our personal taste. As Mr Shyamalan himseld once said: " my movies are spiritual and have an emotional perspective". I agree and this movie triggers interesting converstations among friends. I tought it was worth the look an so it was for his other movies!!

    9/10

    It was a great movie. I see a lot of movies, I have not heard a crowd gasp like that for a long time.

    9/10
    tim.zeh@ 29.9.2010   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    I personally kinda liked the movie, it wasn't terrible but it could've been pulled off a lot better. The movie itself was pretty weird. Honestly though I knew who 'the devil' was in the previews. (complete give away of the movie) - they say its someone who you don't expect so it wouldn't be any of the guys which only leaves the two women and since everyone thought it was the younger woman, it clearly wasn't her. Anyways, overall it was alright, but the majority of people who watch this movie will think its bad, so I'd probably just watch it online.

    6/10

    I guess it was ruined by the fact that it was an m. night shaymalan movie.

    5/10
    ncjdiewl@ 28.9.2010   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    Loved 6th Sense, liked Unbreakable, tolerated Signs. However I felt ever since then his movies having been getting increasingly... bad. The Village was laughable, The Lady in the Water was a sleeper and The Last Airbender was clearly for kids. I won't even mention how The Happening was the biggest slap in the face. I actually felt stupider coming away from that one. Now this brings us to The Devil. If you've seen the rest of his more recently failed movies you'll expect that the movie looks great in the trailer, appears to have a potentially interesting storyline but will somehow take some horrible twist at the end which will inevitably ruin the whole experience. I regretted the $5 I spent seeing this and it was even cheap Tuesday. The actors were low grade. The acting was even lower grade... too much of it wasn't believable (such as the conversations that took place between a group of strangers in an elevator) Hell I spend probably an hour a day riding evelvators at home and work and have found myself at times stuck for a few moments. Never in my life have I been with people that were as "unqiue" as these people. Too many unanswered questions. Save your money.

    3/10
    lundonclark@ 28.9.2010   reply age: 26-35   2 reviews

    Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Devil''?

    How do you rate this movie?

    Select stars from 1 to 10.
    10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
    9 - Excellent movie, a must see
    8 - Great movie, don't miss it
    7 - Good movie, worth seeing
    6 - Not bad, could be much better
    5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
    4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
    3 - Poor movie, not recommended
    2 - Very bad, forget about it
    1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.